h1

Starting out

November 9, 2009

So I mentioned that I am a “journalist at heart.” What does that mean? Well, I was trained at a wonderful institution in journalism, and love that style of writing. I love talking to people, crafting a story and putting it out there for people to take in. Right out of school, I was lucky to land a gig at a pretty large daily newspaper. That meant staying in CT, away from my family, and living alone for the first time. Hard as it was, I’m glad I made that choice.

I think everyone should live alone at some point in their life. Sure, there were plenty of times I came home to a dark apartment and felt swallowed by the emptiness (part of that may have been my 5pm – 1am shift). But it was nice to have a space that was my own. It was my place, my sanctuary. For almost a year, I had my very own apartment without roommates or family members.

That might not sound like a long time, but so much happened to me in that time. Everything shifted in my world. My family, my work, my friends, my life — everything changed over the course of that year, for better or for worse. The first year after college made me see that this is my life and the only person who can live it is me. I’m realizing that more with every day, and hope to explore my life with you by recalling decisions I’ve made and seeing what the future holds.

Leave a Reply

