h1

Get up and swing!

November 15, 2009

On Friday night, we went to see this amazing band at an area venue.

It was so much fun! This was my first time seeing them (not so for the mister, who has seen them a few times), and it got me thinking about all of the bands/acts I have seen. There aren’t a ton, but I think I’ve done pretty well for myself.

My very first major music show was in 2003 to see Ringo Starr with my mom. We had a blast! And I think it was only fitting that my first concert was a former member of my favorite band of all time. So with that in mind, here are the groups/people I have seen along with the venue at which I saw them, in as close to chronological order as I can manage:

  • Ringo Starr and His All-Starr Band 2003, with Colin Hay, Paul Carrack, John Waite and Sheila E. (Radio City Music Hall)
  • Third Eye Blind, Josh Kelley [opener] (QU)
  • Allister (QU)
  • Josh Kelley (Toad’s Place)
  • Vanessa Carlton (QU)
  • Gaelic Storm (Choate Rosemary Hall)
  • Barenaked Ladies (Mohegan Sun)
  • Bouncing Souls, The Loved Ones [opener] (QU)
  • Ringo Starr and His All-Starr Band 2006, with Billy Squier, Richard Marx, Edgar Winter, Rod Argent, Hamish Stuart and Sheila E. (Mohegan Sun)
  • Play Magazine’s 3rd Big Birthday Bash, featuring The Queen Killing Kings and The Lemonheads (Toad’s Place)
  • A Moment’s Worth (Arlene’s Grocery)
  • Fort Minor, Ghostface Killa [opener] (Nokia Theater)
  • Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Steven Tyler [special guest, encore] (Nassau Coliseum)
  • A Moment’s Worth (The Space)
  • Spice Girls (Prudential Center)
  • Stone Temple Pilots (Chevrolet Theater)
  • Elliott Yamin, The Last Goodnight [opener] (The Webster)
  • Billy Joel (Mohegan Sun)
  • Paul McCartney (Citi Field)
  • Big Bad Voodoo Daddy (Jorgensen Center)

Now if you compare me to the average person, I may seem to have been to a fair amount of concerts. Compare me to my mister, however, and I fall way behind. He guesstimates that he has been to somewhere in the range of 150-200 concerts, including some festival shows where he saw numerous acts in one day… Yea, I know!

While there is no way I will ever achieve his musical greatness, I can enjoy the ones I have been to, and look forward to some more in the future. Any suggestions for what my next one should be?

One comment

  1. But how many Broadway shows have you seen?



Leave a Reply

