h1

Life starts when you press “Go”

December 23, 2009

I read this very inspiring story about a 94-year-old woman artist who is finally enjoying attention for her work, and it got my brain gears turning.

When I was little, I wanted to be an English teacher. I wrote poetry and thought it would be the coolest job ever. In high school, I started to write for the newspaper, and suddenly I wanted to be a journalist. I was still writing poetry and short stories, but journalism brought my already established passion for reading and writing together with a new style of storytelling. That’s what I wanted to do.

College rolled around, and I got a degree in journalism. I interned at a newspaper, then worked at a newspaper… and now, I don’t do any journalistic writing. What happened to my dream? A friend of mine recently asked me what I want to do when I leave my current job. Will I go back to newspapers, whatever form they may take? Honestly, I don’t really know what I want to do right now. And thanks to Carmen Herrera, I don’t feel so bad about that right now.

This woman worked her whole life to be recognized for something she was passionate about, and it took 94 years for that to come to fruition. Maybe, then, I shouldn’t beat myself up because at 25 I am still unsure of my life path. There are many things I’m interested in and want to learn more about. I used to think this was a bad thing since it took me in so many directions.

But maybe all of these varied interests will help me find where I am supposed to be so that someday, like Carmen Herrera, I can take a step back and be proud of what I will leave behind. Here’s hoping!

Leave a Reply

