h1

More downsides of 3-D TV

January 19, 2010

It is so comforting to know that I’m not the only one concerned about this whole 3-D television scenario.

The good people at Wired magazine (one of my fav RSS feeds, as you can tell from my many links to them) laid out four reasons why 3-D TV may not be all it’s cracked up to be. If I was nervous about this before, I’m extra anxious now.

As a person who requires eyeglasses in order to function – how I wish I was joking – 3-D movies (and possibly TV) is an issue for me. Trying to layer the special glasses over my own glasses is annoying. I also feel that my anti-reflective, UV coating thing somehow creates a weird viewing situation for me. I don’t always seem to see what other folks see in 3-D.

Eye strain is a huge factor in today’s society. So many people spend all day staring at a computer screen, which is already harsh on their eyes. If those same folks were to come home and have to focus in on the special images coming across their television, I think I can safely predict more migraines, eye problems and even more people needing corrective lenses than currently do.

What are your thoughts on 3-D TV? Do you think the benefits outweigh the negatives? Have you read anything else on this topic? Share it with the group!

One comment

  1. A 3-D movie every now and then (AVATAR!) is a great thing….but TV!? It’s so stupid. Leave the 3-D for the theaters who need more goodies to convince me to leave my couch and Netflix subscription.



Leave a Reply

