h1

“Imagine no possessions…”

February 2, 2010

 

John Lennon, Imagine

John Lennon, Imagine

 

“…it’s easy if you try.” (John Lennon, Imagine)

This month, I am going to try my best to save some money and prevent excess.

We are really fortunate. We have a pretty sweet apartment, way more clothes (and shoes!) than 2 people should have, lots of movies, several computers, and plenty of other fun things and people (that’s stuffed animals, in case you didn’t know). Trust me when I say we are far from rich, but we have more than enough of everything and are very thankful to be able to live the lives we lead.

Lately I’ve been thinking about our bank accounts and the ever decreasing amount of space in our apartment. Jesse and I are definitely bargain hunters. We spend most of our shopping time in the clearance or sale sections, and try not to get things if they are still full price. Sounds like a good plan, right? Generally, it is. But sometimes there are quite a few awesome things on sale – frivolous things like shoes, clothes, movies, odds and ends – and we always seem to end up at stores on our days off.

Knowing that we need to start saving money and that we really will run out of space soon, I have decided that for the month of February, I am not going to purchase ANY unnecessary items. I will limit my spending strictly to essentials – gas, food, rent and bills. If possible, I am also going to try to limit extra activities such as going to the movies or eating out. I want to use this time as a sort of experiment to prove that we don’t need these extras to keep us going. Hopefully, we will head into March with a little extra savings and some better habits moving forward. I will let you know how we do at the end of the month!

And once again, sincere apologies for the lack of posts. I’ve been in sort of a mental funk lately, but I’m gonna shake it off and move on forward. This ride is too short, my friends, and I don’t want to waste any of it.

Have you ever tried scaling back your lifestyle? Were you successful, or did you revert back to your old ways? Do you have any suggestions for other ways to cut back and start saving?

Leave a Reply

