h1

Wintery wonderland? Not so much.

February 9, 2010

Prepping for work today, I heard that NYC public schools have already been closed for tomorrow in anticipation of heavy wintery weather. Anyone who knows the area can attest that snow days are rare in NYC (I don’t remember too many growing up in Queens). NYTimes reports that the whole Northeast region could be trapped under a fairly thick blanket of snow by tomorrow night.

With the impending storm drawing nearer, I’ve been thinking about how my perception of heavy snowfall has changed since I was young.

As a child, I longed for snow days. Really, what kid doesn’t want to stay home from school, play in the street with friends and come home to some hot chocolate and TV? In high school, I enjoyed any snow day we had, but didn’t head outdoors since my friends lived farther away.

College brought a return of the snow loving spirit. There weren’t too many days off since QU is mainly a residential school, but we really loved the few we got. We reverted back to our childhood selves, heading to the quad or behind Commons (a dorm with a great sledding hill, perfect for makeshift cafeteria tray sleds) and having snowball fights. Snow was the great equalizer – freshmen, sophomores and juniors (seniors lived off campus) all came out to act like little kids, and it was a great time.

When I started working at the newspaper, I didn’t have the luxury of snow days. I lived closest to work than the others in our 4-person department, which meant when others called out due to transportation troubles I was called in. One blistery day, I came in at 10 a.m. and was asked to leave at noon so I could come back to work 8 p.m. – 2 a.m. Not cool, but I did what had to be done.

Now I work at the college, which means if the university closes I get a snow day once again. You’d think I would be happy at that idea, right? Wrong.

Because whether I get off work or not, Jesse still has to go in. My mom (or Jayson or some other nice person) still has to shovel in front of the house in Queens. Other friends and family members still have to brace the white stuff and head out to work or dig out their cars, sidewalks, driveways, etc.

Which means I will sit at home and worry all day. Where’s the fun in that? 

How do you feel about heavy snowfall? Do you long for the carefree snow days of your youth, or have you found another way of enjoying the flakes as they fall?

Leave a Reply

