h1

School is back in session

March 16, 2010

After taking two semesters (summer and fall) off, I have resumed my graduate studies. I’ve been picking away at this master’s one class at a time, and this this only my 5th class of the 12 I need for the degree. Since I’ve began the program, I have found it a bit difficult to get into being a student again. And I don’t really understand why.

The classes relate to topics that interest me (the current one deals with visual design and Photoshop skills). Generally, I know both the professors and my fellow students due to my position at the university. In the past, I really enjoyed school and was a total nerd (sans pocket protector – that’s my sister :-P).

It seems as though my school drive has diminished, though. I was out of college for only a year and a half before I started to take graduate classes. Yet almost immediately I noticed that I didn’t have the same desire for learning as I once did. I’m still interested in the material, but I don’t know that I’m giving it 100%.

Part of this reason could well be that I no longer have 100% to give. I am working full time, have part-time freelance work, am attempting to start up a few other small endeavors, am a newlywed, would like to reclaim some sort of a social life which I have let diminish over the last few years and want to spend more time with my family. There are so many things swirling around in my head that I feel like there’s not enough time for even half of them.

I want to forge ahead and just get this done, but it feels like it will take forever. Actually, it will take another 2 years if I continue at the snail’s pace I’ve been rocking (1 class per semester). Maybe if I can start taking 2 at a time, see some real progress towards the end goal, that might motivate me to really get into it.

For now, I’ll take this one week at a time. On the bright side, it’s a 7-week course, so two days in I’m well on my way! I have to keep a blog of my work for class, so if you’re extra bored feel free to check out the link on the right or just click here.

Have you returned to school while working full time? If so, have you experienced motivation issues? If not, what were your reasons for not returning? Does anyone have tips to help me forge ahead?

2 comments

  1. You’ll get it done in no time! The 7-week summer courses definitely help! I liked most of the classes at QU…except FLASH. I hope Adobe Flash burns in HELL! haha


  2. The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.



Leave a Reply

