h1

Row, row, row her boat

March 18, 2010

If I didn’t already feel bad about myself for lack of drive to exercise, this woman just sent me reeling.

Katie Spotz, 22, rowed across the Atlantic Ocean by herself in just 70 days, 5 hours and 22 minutes. Say WHAT?!

When I was 22 (yes, I know, all those long 3 years ago), I was trying to figure out how I could get the closest parking spot to work so I had less to walk after my shift. Spotz decided to take on an entire ocean!

For anywhere from 8-10 hours a day, she rowed through rough waters towards her goal. For that same time frame, I sit on my butt and stare at a computer screen. I knew I was sedentary, but now I just feel like a blob.

Katie, I really hope you will inspire me. I’m working on a schedule to incorporate my full-time job, my freelance work, my homework and my life. Within that schedule, I am going to make a real conscious effort to include exercise time for the first time in my life. I have two weddings to attend this summer and damnit, I want to wear fun dresses!

But here’s the million dollar question – will my lazy tush really do any of this?

What do you think of Katie Spotz accomplishment? Have you ever completed such a grand endeavor? And who will motivate me to follow through with an exercise regimen? Anyone? Please??

Leave a Reply

