h1

How is that possibly necessary?!

March 29, 2010

Thankfully, I have only been pulled over twice so far for speeding (within a few months of each other, no less, but that was 3 years ago). Both were scary experiences. The first time I was pulled over on Whitney Avenue by a New Haven police officer, and the second was a CT State Trooper on I-91 South.

The New Haven officer was so nasty to me. I tried to explain to him that I had never been pulled over before, that I didn’t think I was speeding, and that I was very sorry. And for the record, I really don’t think I was speeding. He didn’t care at all for what I was saying or that I was hysterically crying. He screamed at me and threw the ticket in my face. At least the state trooper was nice and tried to make me feel better.

Anyone who has been pulled over for any reason knows that it’s not a pleasant experience. Now imagine what it must have been like for a pregnant woman in Seattle who was tasered after she refused to sign a speeding ticket. Oh, I wish I was kidding, folks. And best of all, the federal appeals court said IT WAS OKAY. Um, what?!

Is it really necessary to send electric voltage into a 7-months-pregnant woman sitting helplessly in her car? I think not. Did she attack the officers? No. Was she armed? Not unless a Buddha belly counts as a deadly weapon. What possible justification is there for tasering this woman? Please, someone, explain it to me!

Do you think the officers were in the right when they tasered the pregnant woman? Why or why not? What is your definition of “excessive force?”

One comment

  1. Wooooow. She’s going to get SO MUCH MONEY when she sues the shit out of him though!



Leave a Reply

