h1

At a loss

May 29, 2010

Yes, I know I said that I would write more frequently. Trust me, there were many good reasons for this delay.

On Sunday, May 23, my 79-year-old granny (my father’s mother) passed away after a brave battle that began with uterine cancer. Later that same day, my husband’s grandmother (also 79) passed away. Needless to say, this has been a very difficult week.

Monday night we drove to the NY-PA border so that we would be at his grandmother’s funeral Tuesday morning. After spending the day with his family, we then headed down to Queens, NY, to prepare for the next two days of wake and services for my grandmother. We returned to CT yesterday afternoon, and I am completely, emotionally drained.

As if all of that wasn’t enough to make my head spin, I also started a new graduate class this past Monday. I’ve done nothing for the class yet and will have to catch up on a week’s worth of stuff in 2 days. Thank goodness for the long weekend.

I hope to have a more positive post up either later today or tomorrow regarding one good thing that happened this week. It was over two years in the making, and is something that I am so happy to be able to do.

Until then, I’m off to try to recollect my thoughts and begin my grad class. Deep breath in… And big exhale… Here I go.

Leave a Reply

