h1

Hairy situation

May 31, 2010

I mentioned last post that there was one good thing that happened last week. I’m happy to share that news with you now.

Over the past 6 years, I’ve had the honor to participate in Locks of Love. If you haven’t heard of this wonderful organization before, please check it out. It takes about two years for me to grow out the 10 inches or so to donate, and I had been planning on making this chop for a while now. After what happened on Sunday, I knew that Monday was the day.

I’d asked Jesse to take a before shot the previous week, and I took the after shot earlier today. I’ll be sending off the ponytail later this week, but wanted to show you what it looks like to snip off almost half of your hair.

Locks of Love Hair Chop 2010

Locks of Love Hair Chop 2010

This is truly the easiest thing I could do to help children in need, and I am beyond honored to be a small part of it. This is the third time I have done this, and I plan to continue doing it for as long as I am able.

After so much sadness, it really warms my heart to know that this small gesture can make a child happy.

Have you ever participated in Locks of Love, either as a donor or as a recipient? If you haven’t personally, do you know someone who has?

2 comments

  1. Thank you! And you are correct. The first time I did it, I was with you and mom. The second time, I was with Jesse. This third time, I was flying solo! Definitely tougher to do alone, though. Thanks again!


  2. You look adorable with short hair. If my memory serves me correctly, I think I was with you when you “cut” for the first time, it was beautiful then, more beautiful now.



Leave a Reply

