h1

Laziness, with a twist

June 7, 2010

Before I officially begin this post, I would like to send a huge congratulations to two fabulous people who were married yesterday. Lisa and Brandon, I wish you many years of love and friendship! You are wonderful both separately and together. I am so happy to have been there to share in your gorgeous ceremony and reception. Also, a huge shoutout to Lisa’s lovely mother Debbie, who is a loyal blog reader. You looked fabulous, cut quite a rug and have an incredible family. Hooray for a great day!

Alrighty then. On to my post!

My mind is racing with possibilities, and the rest of me can’t seem to keep up. I have so many things I want to do but for some reason I don’t know how to see them all through. Here’s a snippet of my to-do/wish list, in no particular order: redesign our website, finish designing & build my ribbon roses site, get serious about creating supplemental income, write articles (journalism) again, resume cartooning, beef up my portfolio (video, web, writing, copyediting, animation), learn After Effects, speed up the path to my master’s degree, publish a book… the list continues, with some items more plausible than others.

Am I trying to do too much? Possibly. But these are all things I want to do, things that make me happy and will give me feelings of self-accomplishment. It’s strange to feel so much drive and passion on one hand, and on the other to be a bit lazy. I may be overwhelming myself with all of these ideas, causing mental overload that results in me sitting on my couch for hours without productivity.

I know it won’t be easy working full-time, taking a graduate class, becoming my own boss and still having time for a social life. Maybe I just need to prioritize my list and make it more realistic. I’ll set goals and deadlines for myself in the hopes of forcing motivation. Think I can do it?

Of course, I will keep you updated as things progress. In the meantime, feel free to check out my graduate school blog and my Twitter feed (I had to make it for class, and am genuinely trying to find it’s value), and always check in here to see my many ups and downs.

Do you have a to-do list that’s getting the best of you? Do you have any tips for me on how I can better accomplish my goals?

2 comments

  1. So true. Not that you’re biased, or anything…


  2. You don’t need a social life. You can just hang out with your business manager all the time.



Leave a Reply

