h1

Two new reasons to love Legos

June 15, 2010

If you weren’t already aware of the awesomeness of Legos, I’ve just read two stories that could prove it to you.

Lego Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4 Polizia, courtesy of Wired.com

Lego Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4 Polizia, courtesy of Wired.com

First up, there’s the scale model of a Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4 Polizia, the crazy cool racer used by Italian State Police. Much snazzier than the Fords I’m used to. They catch criminals in style!

Monster Chess (Credit: TeamHassenplug.org) - Courtesy CNET (news.cnet.com)

Monster Chess (Credit: TeamHassenplug.org) - Courtesy CNET (news.cnet.com)

Then there’s Monster Chess, a huge, robotic chess set that uses sensors built into the 156-square-foot floor to move the pieces via computers. Makes me wish I knew how to play!

And since I’m already showing some Lego love, I’ll share some pics from my personal collection.

Here’s a huge Lego Nessie (Loch Ness Monster) living in the water outside the Lego Imagination Center in Downtown Disney. Isn’t she beautiful? I wonder if the real Nessie posed for this artist’s rendering…

Lego Nessie, photo taken by me 8-22-08

Lego Nessie, photo taken by me 8-22-08

Speaking of artists, have you ever heard of an artist whose work is all done with these little plastic bricks? This is a piece titled “Gray” by the amazing Lego artist Nathan Sawaya. I took this photo during an exhibit of his work at the Stamford Museum and Nature Center.

Nathan Sawaya's "Gray" - photo taken by me 4-11-08

Nathan Sawaya's "Gray" - photo taken by me 4-11-08

Incredible, right? Check out the other stuff on his site to truly be amazed. Works like all of those above are a refreshing reminder that Legos aren’t just for kids and we should never harness our imagination.

Have you seen other incredible Lego art? Or perhaps art created by other childhood toys? Share them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

