h1

Can’t they just wear a sweater?

January 11, 2010

Here’s an interesting tidbit I just read in the New York Times. If the temperature inside any of the New York Public Libraries drops below a certain temperature for a couple of hours or more, unionized workers can either take paid leave or accrue comp time.

Wow. Really. I can tell you that where I work, it is almost always super chilly due to the dozens of computer stations and studio equipment we house. And what do we all do when the temp dips a little low? We add another layer. We all come into work prepared with an extra sweatshirt or something because we are well aware that it could be 100 degrees outside but 50 inside. Even now in the winter, it is brisk in here (I’m rocking a t-shirt over a long-sleeved thermal shirt and my hands are cold).

The few times I found myself in one of the Queen’s public libraries, I remember it being warm and cozy. And in the summer, it was a great place to catch some A.C. if you happened to be walking by. I never remember it being too extreme in either way, but I really don’t remember too much besides grabbing some R.L. Stine or other young adult horror/thriller books and rushing home to read them.

Now, if you read through the article, there are not many instances in which this policy is invoked. Still, it’s interesting to me that such a policy exists.

I wonder what other organizations/businesses have climate-related worker policies… any ideas?

2 comments

  1. Definitely makes sense. That would be pretty awful for them. Thanks for the info!


  2. I know that the steamfitters don’t have to work (if they are working outside) once it goes down to a certain temperature. BUt its some kind of crazy cold temp, so it kinda makes sense.



Leave a comment