h1

Working towards a cure

February 24, 2010

Everyone is affected in some way, either directly or indirectly, by cancer. It’s a sad fact that I wish was not true. Due to my own personal hatred of the disease (here’s a post from my old job for insight into where that hatred began), I tend to read up about the latest developments in treatment and discovery. I have two articles to share today, as well as some information on upcoming events.

Last week, I read about the possibility of home detection sensors that could help determine if cancer cells are present. These sensors are still in developmental stages but seem like they would be invaluable resources in early detection, which almost always results in better treatment and survival rates.

Today, I was moved by doctor’s who are constantly trying new drugs and new treatments even when faced with sometimes devastating failure. It’s no secret that drug trials are constantly evolving and occurring. Even so, I’m encouraged by specific stories of doctors who will not give up on their patients. It definitely takes a strong person to see what these doctor’s see on a daily basis and still turn around and provide hope.

These stories are especially important to me right now as I start to gear up for this year’s Relay for Life. With less than 2 months to go, my team is almost ready to get moving (don’t ask). Jesse and I are taking some of the generous monetary gifts we received for our wedding and putting them towards Relay. That will give us a great start, but I’m not stopping there. I’m not convinced that my team will raise a lot with their fundraising plan, so I intend to launch my own campaign soon. Stay tuned for details!

Is there a cause that’s close to your heart? Do you have any fundraising tips for me? I look forward to sharing my ideas and getting your input.

2 comments

  1. […] family, and loyal readers know of my deep connection to this disease. I find it difficult to fully express my disdain for this woman as she used such a […]


  2. Nana –
    we’re behind you 100% for the relay for life. It just makes us feel better being able to do just a little something to help out.

    We do this solely for your dad, who is always in our hearts.



Leave a comment